Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some people that undergraduates should study university courses that they are interested in. However, others argue that students should be restricted to study science-and-technology-related subjects that are important in the future. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the latter because I believe that allowing people to pursue what they love is the optimal way to benefit themselves and society.

On the one hand, restricting university students to study about science and technology has some benefits. This is simply because when students focus on studying these subjects, they will have more high-paid job opportunities after graduating. Certainly, as science and technology have been playing a crucial role in our modern society, many big firms are having several vacancies for positions related to these fields across the world. For example, Google recruits many programmers each year to help them drive their business successfully. This can help millions of people who want to earn a competitive salary and to have a better living standard, especially those who live in impoverished countries. As a result, people who are majoring in technology or science can have more opportunities to reach financial success in life.

On the other hand, I argue that allowing university students to pursue what they love is even a more effective method of education in general. In fact, every student has their own talents, be it in science, business, or the arts; therefore, if students can learn subjects that they feel comfortable with, they can reach their full potential and perform at their greatest level in their field. For example, if students whose right brain is more active have to study subjects requiring a lot of calculations like mathematics, they cannot compete with students with an agile left brain. As a result, such people will not be satisfied when they have little career success. Worse still, they may disbelieve in their values and abilities.

In conclusion, despite forcing undergraduates to study certain subjects that are important in the future has some benefits, I side with those who think that letting students study what they are interested in can help them achieve more in their future career.