Recently approximately 20% growth is reported in the number of children who suffer from obesity in western society over the previous decade. This essay will argue some rationales related to this underlying upward trend, and potential and detrimental impacts driven.

No doubt, we live in a world that thanks to ever-increasing technology developments, lives become much more convenient and regardless of physical demand. The first and foremost reason regarding children's overweighting is fast food and junk food popularity, which contains a substantial amount of additive and lake of nutrition nutrients but delicious, persuasive, and appealing. Furthermore, playing video games, which alter a primary recreational activity for children these days and typically dedicate most of their time to play without any physical activity and movement, can account for another main culprit behind children's obesity.

On the other hand, if children gain weight more and more, it will accompany severe long-term problems. First of all, their health and well-being link to their weight directly, and it is essential to have a moderate weight in proportion to their age and height. Otherwise, a number of dangerous diseases are waiting for them, such as diabetes. Besides, it is proven that the more children eat without exercising and physical activity, the more they will suffer from muscle weaknesses and bone-related illnesses in the future, and this sedentary-inactive lifestyle will cause a heavy burden and strain on health care systems.

To sum up, the population of children who suffer from overweight and obesity is increasing at an alarming rate, particularly in western society. Several reasons are responsible for this destructive trend, such as an insatiable appetite for unhealthy foods and computer games on the top. Undoubtedly, this trend will accompany non-compensatable and hazardous results for their families and themselves and society as a whole.