The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The increase of the ratio of overweight children in western society by a fifth has become a dilemma in the last ten years. This essay will discuss the causes and effects of this problem.

Obesity has a plethora of causes. First of all, everybody cannot follow an unique diet system, cannot calculate the calories that he needs in his daily routine, cannot know his BMR so he cannot know how he will burn calories in one day. Consequently, at past a lot of children ate a lot of junk foods, sugars (candies, sweets), food that contains excess of cholesterol, salt, fried food. But now if any child had a choice, he would choose healthy life style to keep fit. In addition, many toddlers do not participate in any sports or go to the gym. For example, a survey has shown that 68% of people eat junk food on a daily basis.

However, there is an adverse impact of leading this unhealthy conduct. Primarily, it results in a variety of diseases like cardiovascular disease such as Myocardial infarction, high blood pressure and Diabetes (diabetes mellitus and diabetes insipidus). For example

, in the US more than 60% of people are dying due to heart-related disease mainly because of poor lifestyle. Moreover, obesity can affect our generation too. Fat people tend to produce more stress-induced hormones called cortisol. Furthermore, this leads to memory loss.

To put in a nutshell, it can be finally commented that consuming unhealthy diets like fast food and pre-prepared meals has a bad effect on the body system. So, we should make it a duty to be conscious with what the growing child eats and homemade food from natural resources will be of great help.