The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

Regarding the reasons of increasing portion of youth who are facing with obesity in developed countries over last decade, we need to focus on psychological components of modern lifestyle and the implemented tricks that huge food and beverage companies are widely using based on them.

Looking at contemporary society and its disadvantages in developing a healthy lifestyle in adolescents, the most conspicuous approach is the insatiable interest of families in acquisitiveness and the growing demand of consumption for goods that are not of necessity. Subsequently, the children who initially tries to imitate their parents, would easily fall for ultra-processed foods and drinks, which have been produced in laboratories instead of kitchens, in virtue of peer pressure and also the eye-catching appearance of these products

Considering the recent developments of advertising industry, huge brands and franchises are well- equipped with the recourses that can help them in order to create provocative and misleading advertisements more efficiently. As a consequence, the youngsters, who are not properly aware of companies’ goals in building ubiquitous billboards, catchy slogans, and omnipresent internet pop-ups, will trap in brand attachment and health halo which was subtly instilled by mentioned organizations

To conclude, prior to any obvious cause, we should first take both psychological aspects of companies which produce unhealthy foods with excessive amounts of sugar and fat, and also new values of western society into account. For instance, in on hand, the consumption algorithm that is constantly encouraging people to eat more and more harmful products without considering the petrifying effects of them, and on the other hand, the vast investment of international brands in new advertising methods in order to entice the young.