Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead, they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

A section of society argues that certain kind of offenders should provide free service to society rather than going to jail. I personally support this notion because of the several reasons.

A negative point of putting all lawbreakers in prison to consider is that Criminals, who do not commit a serious misdeed, may come under influence of dangerous offenders. This is because all types of offenders are kept in the same place and they have impact on each other to a certain extent, as a result of which they can be detrimental to society once they are out of prison and also they will meet new criminals of the same mindset which will increase the tendency to make more crimes. For instance, a person who is a thief may be swayed by a murderer and may plan to commit an illicit Offence in the future. Instead, if such people are used for a proper purpose then it can be beneficial for the community.

Furthermore, complementary services set a platform in which delinquents won't be exposed to all those forms of learning in various criminal areas which can lead to criminal intents. Moreover, culprits are given an appreciable opportunity to turn over a new leaf in their life.

Another reason why I oppose the imprisonment of all criminals is that keeping malefactors in custody would be costly and useless. The government has to spend a huge amount of money on expenses like food, clothes, and guards for confinement. Besides, wrongdoers who are locked up are no threat to the society, and rehabilitation programmes provide a transition in their lifestyle before release. Principles of group therapy operate as therapeutic community in which convicts are psychologically manipulated so that they won't be subjected to recidivism. Although rule breakers receive the possibility of revitalization with the help of the recovering strategies, They ought to be punished to perform free of charge physical labour through which they figure out the significance of law infringement.

In conclusion, incarcerating criminals who have not caused menacing to society does not deter them from reoffence and may not reform them. Moreover, keeping them in jail is Implementation of dominant power upon minor criminals as well as unaffordable cost while community service tends to be more beneficial for both sides, offenders, and the society.