Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

Currently, crime costs have increased compared to the past period. Some defenders argue that certain types of criminals should enjoy voluntary social service rather than sending them to prison. In my own opinion, I personally support the concept and I'll explain why.

Firstly, people who committed petty crimes should do community work. This is because all types of criminals are held in the same area and interact to a certain extent, once released they can re-commit these crimes against the society. For example, a person who is in jail for a family problem because of a particular person can commit murder by killing him in the future after being released from prison. Otherwise, if these people are used for a good cause or learned something while there were in jail may benefit them in the future then it is good for him and the community in his upcoming life.

Secondly, imprisonment is not the right way to punish all criminals. Few of them need to learn the right lessons before returning to the public so they can work and gain the respect of society and stop committing crimes. Inmates when providing free services to the community that will help them understand the value of hard work and take responsibility for their actions as they provide free services to the community. For example, when an offender has the opportunity to clean up rubbish from the main road, it will help them understand how to live better than of sending him to jail and providing years of free meals. Also, when a criminal is sent to prison, he encounters a group of like-minded criminals which increases the propensity to commit more violent crimes.

All in all, I totally agree with this as it will give them a second chance to improve their social life with respect and obedience.