The percentage of the population living in urban areas has greatly increased in many countries.

Discuss some reasons for this change and some of its consequences for urban planning.

In recent years, it is reported that there is a growing number of rural residents moving to metropolitan areas to make ends meet. Many statisticians prove that this upward trend could leave several drawbacks for the society in the long run. In this essay, we will explain why this issue happen and sort out some negative effects of urban shift.

In today’s world, due to the need of having jobs in many societies, numbers of families from the countryside areas have moved to the cities with the intention of improving their employment prospects. Additionally, with the rapid development of technology and customer services in cities, living standards are also developed. Citizens can approach better facilities and services, involved malls and hospitals, that are unavailable in rural areas. Last but not least, energetic lifestyles and hectic workload are also factors of this trend. Many young citizens now are greatly appealed to the modernity of cities and in turn, are likely to relocate to these areas.

However, overpopulation is always a problematic trouble associated with urban shift. An ever-increasing number of city residents are currently putting strain and cost on various fields involved hospitality and transportation. This would have a knock-on effect on many hospitals, letting these places be overloaded shortly. In terms of transport, this trend would lead to higher need of cars and the rapid increase in the number of vehicles; and in the long run, traffic gridlock would be more common as a result of this growth. Moreover, the principle issue of urban planning is the lack of fundamental provision, including clean water and power shortage, as many industries could not instantly adapt to satisfy these enormous need for the continuously growing society.

In short, the Government should take immediate action on controlling the flow of immigrants from rural areas in order to alleviate the serious impact on the society caused by urban shift.