A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The core value is the most important thing that every person should keep in mind in his whole life. Some individuals argue that a person’s trait has changed from the old-fashion values such as graciousness, honesty, and integrity to the outer manners including property and social position. I strongly disagree with this view, because I believe that the old core characteristics have been playing a crucial role in one person’s value.

To begin with, it is obvious that our society is guiding every individual to live kindly and truly through the education system. In primary school in which the foundation of a person is set up, every country has a subject called norm or mortality which define and educate children what is the main core of a man. Moreover, there are many lifestyle books written based on those features like honesty and kindness. For example, Mother Theresa is respected by the whole world by her graciousness and her great aid to the poor and patients.

In addition, the people who are gracious, kind, and honest are the one most of the people choose to be friend with and work with. The employers nowadays try their best effort to seek for the applicants who are not only well-educated but more importantly are reliable, honor, and enthusiastic. For instance, people always appreciate a kind person regardless of their occupations.

In conclusion, the apparent things such as asset and social status may immediately impress people but they are not the main things to define a person’s quality. The evidence which is mentioned above are pointing that past values such as kindness, honesty, and honor are still the most important parts of a person’s portrait.