A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material

possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem

important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As the world grows more and more briskly, it is crucial to be have a specific position and to have self-enjoyment. However, those cannot and never be the measure to evaluate a personal value. I totally disagree with the statement that, “People are judged only according to public status and material. Passé values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important”.

To begin with, social status and material ownerships – from my standpoint, can never be put on measurement to any personal evaluation. Who can clarify that one’s status was made from his/her own achievements, or from some vague reasons? As also with material owning, we cannot respect one just because he/she is wearing luxurious shoes – because nobody knows whether that possesion belongs to that person, or whether the owner had to spend months of his/her salary to purchase that goods?

Moreover, I think that personal characteristics’ values, for instance integrity, compassion and reliance – given by the topic, are definite the exact qualification to assess anyone. Ones can fake their fortune, their positions but cannot fake their traits. With natural instinct, we can to some extent analyze the honest of the person we meet. And it is undeniable that we would communicate with person with good feature and no property rather than one who has tremendous assets but poor manner.

In conclusion, the inside trait of everyone is the definite object to assess oneself. As long as one’s trait is qualified, we can make relationship, no matter how much is their fortune. With good characteristics, admirable public position or superior property will be obtained by time.