A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

With the change over time, a lot of variations can be witnessed in the thinking and judgment criteria of an individual. The priority towards a particular individual is highly weighed based on their worldly status. Many people advocate in favor of valuing a person's position looking at their social status and materialistic possessions while many others claim the importance of traditional values such as trust and honor to be acknowledged to weigh an individual's capability. I am in accord with the given statement and think that modern culture has a strong grip on today's society, where the money is valued more than a life. Although it's good to earn honor and status in one's lifetime, it should be judged in a balance with the golden etiquette and values held by an individual.

The golden period of old times is unforgettable when all people were respected for their honorable and trustful dealings. There was no definition of prioritizing one's money over their sense of gratitude. For instance, a feeling of security, trust, and power of kindly spoken words was of immense value. Hence, it is an undeniable fact that humans and their ethics were the real treasure in earlier times.

However, a contrasting trend is more prevalent in modern times. How much a person possesses in his bank account and in his physical environment has gobbled up the real human values. Nowadays, no one is bothered about one's true capabilities and ethical values, while showoff and powerful positions have engulfed the true worth. For example, during the times of an interview higher connections, physical outlook, and social status wins over the individual's ability and truthful values. So, a person's preferences and way of communication gets overly impacted through a person's status in society.

To conclude, it is rightly said that the modernization has taken over the ethical values defined through old generations. It's all a moot point now whether to acknowledge values or material belongings to estimate a person's worth. However, in my opinion, people's point of view should be unbiased, as a result, a person's ethics should be respected above monetary status.