a person's worth is now a days seem to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honor, kindness and trust no longer seem important. Agree or Disagree?

Currently, some people think that social status and material possessions play an important role in appreciating a person's worth. While I accept that those help people be respected, I would argue that many other factors are much more crucial.

There are some reasons why people can be judged by social status and material possessions. Firstly, since, nowadays, people always strike for earning money, which can make them be stressed and depressed, they can be attracted by wealthy people. As a result, they believe that material possessions is the best way to perform them. For example, when I see a youngster driving a modern car like BMW, I immediately admire him and wish I were him. Secondly, people having high social position have wider relationship which is a key to succeed in career, so they are highly regarded and become a role of model for other people.

However, it seems to me that judging people should accord to their personalities. The first one is that these days, people are less concerned and help each other than in the past, so kindness is a value personality to appreciate a person. For instant, in Vietnam many young people usually spend their time on repairing or painting the poor's houses, which makes them be loved and respected. In addition, a person is likely to be highly appreciated and make friends, if they lie one's way into their goal. This can cause that they lose the trust of people surrounding him.

In conclusion, I recognise that appreciating a person can accord to social status and material possessions, but I believe that their personality is a best way to understand a person.