Phones at school

Nowadays, in order to make the lectures easier for students to understand and absorb the knowledge, some institutions permit their pupils to utilize smart devices. From my point of view, smartphones can be helpful or detrimental depending on the way students use them. And this essay will discuss the reasons for my view as follow.

Smartphones indeed assist us in numerous approaches. First and foremost, it helps the students gain knowledge from lessons more comfortably. Searching for study materials on their own by smartphones can stimulate their ability to search for information, analysis skills and makes them more active during the periods. In History class, which is considered to be boring, students can look up information with the assistance of their cellphones, then discuss with their peers the questions asked by the teachers. As a result, they attain a deeper understanding of the lessons and find more interest in this subject. Secondly, students can take notes easily when cellular phones are allowed at school. Some students may be slow in taking notes from the board or projector they can use their in-camera phone feature to take a picture of the notes, they did not catch, so as not to miss anything.

However, smartphones could bring about negative effects on students. One of the reasons why some schools are still afraid to let electronic devices become prevalent in classes is that they can be a distraction to students. Overusing smartphones can lead to students’ poorer academic performance. Students can easily turn to social media such as Facebook or Instagram when they feel like there is no need to listen to their lecturers and surfing on these social platforms is much more fascinating. Another disadvantage of using smartphones in classrooms is that the cost of these devices can lead to an unequal learning experience for students. Students from low-income families may not have access to mobile phones and miss out on the interactive activities that teachers incorporate into lessons. They either need to share another student's phone or get access to a phone through the school to reap the benefits. Consequently, it may affect the quality of the discussions among students since it takes them more time to find out information to be able to solve the problems given by the teachers.

In sum, bringing electronic devices into educational programs can be both beneficial and harmful. Therefore, it is of the utmost importance that teachers and parents should keep an eye on their children and give instruction on how to use a cell phone effectively.