Playing a musical instrument is one of the most important achievements for any child. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The role of music in our life is still widely debated, with some people claiming it is indeed of paramount importance for children to master at least a music instrument. Personally, I agree with this statement, and I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, playing music acts as a precursor to a child's mental development. it is true to argue that learning any musical instruments, let alone mastering one, is time-consuming, tedious and requires constant efforts. However,through the course of striving, children may inadvertently acquire patience and diligence,thus enhancing their complex problem-solving skills. Secondly, playing musical instruments is said to be a healthy way of entertainment. Compared to children who spend hours straining their eyes at computer or mobile phone screens, other who consider playing music a hobby are proved to rarely have to suffer from any types of eye disorders. Finally, strange as it may sound, when it comes to one's adolescence and adulthood, the ability of being mastered in any musical instruments can make him stand out of the crowd and draw admiration.

I do understand the opposing view ,which is that forcing a child to learn such tough thing as musical instruments from an early age may cause psychological injuries.With long tiring days of hard training for an instrument in the absence of any likelihood that he would be able to master it,there is no doubt that it will result in loss of confidence and self-belief. However,it is by no means clear that this always happen and can be fixed by a loosened timetable or consistent encouragements from teachers and parents.

To conclude, I believe that the ability of playing musical instruments is an excellent goal to strive for,especially with children at their early ages.this is as long as the learning instrument process is ensured to be a gradual process, based on careful support rather than undue pressure.