It is true that artists who perform pop music can earn significantly more money than those performing classical music. While some argue that it is fair for them to earn a fortune; others contend that this is unjustified. This essay will analyze both viewpoints and the reasons why I advocate for the former.

On the one hand, this tendency is believed to be unjust for two reasons. The first is the hard work of classical music performers. In other words, they have to undergo years of intensive training to be proficient in playing classic instruments and performing live on stage, thus they deserve to be paid higher or at the very least on equal footing to contemporary mainstream singers. Moreover, it can propagate a false notion that pop music artists are more talented. More specifically, they would likely be considered to possess superior musical skills and knowledge than those who perform classical music even though they both should be valued due to their certain contributions to a country’s musical industry.

On the other hand, opponents consider it is legitimate for pop stars to earn more money than professionals focusing on the classical genre. Their main justification is they have a short-lived career. Compared to classical music artists who can pursue a long career path as their skills and experience are more appreciated than their attractive appearance, pop stars can only remain at the peak of their career for a certain period of time and easily be replaced by newcomers. Furthermore, it is justifiable for them to earn a lot of money as they have to spend significantly on marketing to keep their name known by the public. For example, Son Tung MTP, a Vietnamese pop star, expended a fortune on clothes and marketing to build up and retain the image of being trendy and stylish to attract his audiences; therefore, he should be given a high income to afford such expenditure.

In conclusion, although both sides have their own merits, I believe that pop artists well deserve a higher income than classical music performers considering their short-lived careers and the expenses they bear. It is predicted that more people will exert themselves to become pop stars in the future to enjoy a luxurious and wealthy lifestyle.