Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Sports events are held almost every year in various part of our big planet. They are usually surrounded by huge expectations, bright emotions and a desire of people all over the world to be a part of them. It is believed that such occasions not only make sports lovers a bit happier, but also join and unite the whole nations. I can consider myself as one of these people, since I fundamentally agree that positive effects of such events rather than negative ones.

To begin with, the fact that sports competitions are usually held in different countries and continents makes people travel a lot and get a knowledge about other nationalities. Being a part of new countries, sharing traditions, languages, cuisine and habits gives an excellent opportunity for everyone to become closer to people from other side of the Earth. Undoubtely, it all brings new friends and emotions and makes people closer to each other which, consequently, leads to improvements in international relations.

Additionally, the main purpose of typical worldwide sports event is to unite people. It seems to me that this objective is always fulfilled. During such events even sports non-lovers become devoted patriots and fans.People unite when they support, for instance, a football team. It does not matter what your homecountry is: you are a great supporter with millions of people from ther continents who share your sports views and preferences. It, obviously, pulls nations together.

All in all, I feel like sports occasions are unique chances of uniting even conflicting countries. The common interests and sporting opinions, in my personal view, unite inhabitants of completely different nations and contribute to strengthening of international tensions.