Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The world cup football matches and Olympics are the most significant sporting events among the world. They are very important in easing the tensions and alleviate the wounds between different nations and explode patriotism feelings among individuals safely. However, some people believe that such events can increase the conflicts and implacability between the countries.

On the one hand, the world cup and Olympics games can easing the tensions among different nations by spreading the tolerance and cooperation between the rivals . Furthermore, there will be harmonious feelings between the fans and that has impact in the relations between nations as well. For example, Nigeria did not qualify before the semi-final during the last handball world cup that has been held last August against Egypt and because of the good relations between the two African states , the Nigerian people and the team was supporting Egypt at the final .

On the other hand, sports match can make the relations worse and it can leads to undesirable repercussions. For instance , football games between Egypt and Algeria are always a big matches in the two countries . During the African cup in 2010, there was a hating speech between the media in two countries and that exploded in such an aggressive way between the players and the audiences themselves after the match. As far as I know from that time till now there are tensions and limitations between both nations even at the social media programs.

In conclusion, I think that the international sporting occasions can play a good role easing the tensions or release the patriotism. However, i believe that games cannot be the pivotal way for easing conflicts and increase the patriotism safely.