The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years.But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many countries across the globe have witnessed a remarkable alteration to the status of women in society over the past five decades;literacy and changes in the patriarchal family system are some of the milestones that helped to attain this.It is an irrefutable fact that few ethnic groups cannot vouch to have eliminated gender bias completely. I am inclined towards this view to a certain extent;however,it cannot be disregarded that many societies have been successful in getting rid of this injustice to women.

Out of all the reasons,the foremost one is women today are walking hand in hand with their male counterparts in any significant field that can be named which can be attributed to the up surging literacy levels especially in the cities.Due to this,they have managed to attain substantial success in their careers that was unimaginable a few years ago as women were earlier thought to be home-makers only and not torch bearers.To elaborate,this enhancement has led to women playing dual roles of being a homemaker and bread-winner which has made the male gender become a part of managing the household chores as well as upbringing of children to ease of the burden from women.Also,certain restrictions that were placed in terms of clothing,educational qualifications are no longer applicable as women have stepped out of their homes and have become independent decision makers.So,one can say that societies that considered certain tasks to be predominantly female are now accepting this modification to the roles played by both the genders specially in the urban areas.

However,the other side cannot be overlooked as the rural areas are yet far from these developmental changes.To commence with, the mindset of these people is the predominant obstacle in achievement of similarity between men and women.Men yet believe that women are weaker and sub-ordinate to them and hence consider it their right to have superiority.An ideal example of this is that in many parts of India female infanticide,widow-remarriage,dowry killings are prevalent as the masculine gender consider it their right to impose their power to subdue the feminine gender.Hence,orthodox mentality prevailing in certain parts of the world prohibit the gender bias omission from the society.

To culminate the above mentioned arguments, it can be said that despite of the advancements in social backgrounds and status of women in society there are a few sections that are yet unable to accept that women should share an equivalent position as men.It can be envisaged that a few more years down the line this notion will be wholeheartedly accepted by the masses,gender inequality shall be eradicated totally.