At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively larger number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in certain countries there are growing masses of young population as compared to older one. It is agreed that this phenomenon is more advantageous to these countries than being a negative trend. Analysis of both sides of this trend will be given followed by a reasonable conclusion.

On one hand, many believe that an integral disadvantage in a hugely younger population is the increased unemployment. This is because the young individuals tend to be more motivated to work and acquire additive skills, which create competitions between job applicants as the employers chose the most talented person for the job. If there are too many young competent individuals and few job vacancies, there will be many people heavily to get a job. It is true, however, such large communities usually have active job markets and many people will take the chance to do something for living.

On the other hand, it is obvious to me that the younger nations have many merits in contrast to older population. On one side, Young people are often more productive in term of work. They tend more to help their countries as they have the body fitness and power to do heavy working as well as have the essential motivation to learn skills and jump farther in the job ladder. On the other side, as well as being losing the power and motivation, older people might cost the health budget heavily. They are suffering from age illnesses that need funding to the hospitals and health care more than the funds lost on the younger. For instance, the NHS is losing almost double amount of money on geriatrics annually.

In conclusion, there are opposing views regarding the increased percentage of younger people in some countries. While some people believe that such tend will increase the redundancy, I think younger nations are more work productive in contrast to the older populations that cost heavily for health care.