It is undeniable that population structure is one of the keys influencing the development of a nation since it involves such factors as the labor market, education and welfare system. In some countries, there is a fact that the number of young citizens are considerately larger than the figure for their older counterparts. While I accept that this phenomenon may bring about several drawbacks, I believe that its advantages are more significant.

To begin with, there are a number of explanations why the positive impacts of having a youthful population outweigh their downsides. From an economic perspective, this situation leads to the reduction of the financial burden of governments by lowering the expense for welfare benefits. To be more specific, there would be less elderly people who have to live alone in the final years of their lives, and rely on social securities to pay for their living costs. Instead, their children will be mainly responsible for taking care of them when they are no longer able to work. Another reason is that the overwhelming number of individuals in the young generation could help to avoid the risk of the lack of people entering the workforce, which is currently a huge concern in plenty of nations, such as Japan and many European countries. Furthermore, young inhabitants have less old age-associated illness leading them to work more and maintain them-self more active. Thus, they can contribute to the economy of the country, making money instead of spending.

Numerous people hold the opinion that a young population is a negative development because of some reasons. They may argue that the unbalance between the number of residents in young adults and older age groups can make the status of national unemployment more serious since there will be not enough jobs for all individuals. However, that issue is mainly caused by the ineffective division of labor of governments, and the disqualification of candidates as the shortage of employees has been posing a huge challenge to companies, especially start-up businesses. Additionally, if the number of residents in young age groups accounts for a major proportion of the total population in a country, it can be a burden for the educational sector due to the fact that the capability of the educational system is limited. A lot of adolescents may have fewer chance to be well-educated, which is one of the explanations for social problems. In fact, nonetheless, authorities always make efforts to encourage their citizens to complete at least general education programs by introducing financial support, for example, whereas the lack of awareness of some people prevents themselves or even their children from going to schools.

In conclusion, everything has two sides and a youthful population is not an exception. Nevertheless, it seems to me that the negative demerits of this phenomenon is outweighed by its merits.