At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years many populations consist mostly of young adults, compared to lower percentage of older citizens. This phenomenon has some advantages, mainly that this age group is relatively in better health condition. However, there are also some drawbacks like the lack of knowledge and experience. This essay will discuss both views, and will argue that the advantages surpass the disadvantages.

Younger adults are generally healthier than the elderly and are less prone to morbid diseases, and since the government spends huge amounts of money on healthcare, including drugs, health centers and senile housings, having a higher population of young adults can reduce these expenses significantly. To illustrate, in Jordan the amount of money spent on healthcare for senior citizens has reached 3% of the national income in the last 10 years. Furthermore, younger people have the physical strength needed to perform hard jobs, especially those require physical ability, like building farming and industry. Therefore having higher number of young adults means abundant workforce, and therefore developing the country as a whole, including building infrastructure, food production…,etc.

On the other hand, people need a very long time to get the knowledge and experience needed to perform some vital jobs, like politics, economy and academic careers to mention a few. For this reason a young population may lack people with high level of experience who are able to take the proper decisions to lead the country to better future. However if we think about the matter thoroughly we conclude that we need much more laborers than we need leaders, it takes a lot of workers, builders, farmers…etc, but only a few organizers and experts.

In conclusion, older citizens have a very important role in guiding and teaching the

younger generations, but the ideal society should have relatively higher number of

young people, because they are the power behind building and development.