"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With time, diseases are getting complex and hard to cure. In such circumstances, authorities are looking for more options and finding the ways to prevent the diseases with research and health education. In my opinion, it is the best approach as it saves a lot of money which would otherwise be used during treatment, will decreases mortality and morbidity rates and yet create awareness among people.

Firstly, with the extensive basic knowledge of the disease physiology, scientist are able to halt the speed and in some cases can provide complete prevention from some diseases. This activity comes at a high price and time which is sponsored by governments. But looking at the brighter side, these inventions saves billions of dollars which would otherwise be utilised during hospital care. For instance, the global programme for polio eradication cost a fortune to global health authorities but with the efforts, we have achieved 99% eradication rate. Such strategy helps in overall health expenditure.

Secondly, there has been a massive decrease in overall mortality and morbidity throughout the world owing to better medical research and inventions of vaccines against deadly diseases. HIV and AIDS are such examples which were thought to be incurable, but with modern research and financial help, scientist are now able to stop the further progression. Thus proving the overall beneficial effects of research.

Lastly, the awareness among the masses in regards to diseases is the most important aspect of any particular society. Many conditions are prevalent in society just because of misinformation or no information at all. Special education programmes in such cases help to understand the diseases and possible ways to prevent them at an individual level. For instance, sexual education programmes are being conducted regularly in schools. This gives an insight to the student about possible ways to get STI's and creating awareness regarding healthy sexual life. Similarly, HIV awareness has been a massive hit and proved to reduce the disease prevalence.

In conclusion, spending on prevention and education gives us economic benefits and overall less number of sick people. In my opinion, governments should encourage preventive research and spend most on it.