“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

The investment on researching and experiments to cure the maladies is required a huge amount of money. As a result of this, some people claims that the prevention for maladies is more important and should invest on preventative measures. Even though the prevention seems the most optimistic way to achieve, in finance perspective, I believe that this is unrealistic and therefore, I completely disagree with this approach. I think the research for treating diseases is still required.

Investing on preparation and prevention for diseases is better, because it is cheaper than spending money for researching and treating diseases. If the government only focuses on their money on prevention, the costs involving with the prevention project would be lesser, because all they have to do is find the way to improve people’s immune systems. In comparison to this, if the scientists treating for diseases then, the scientists would have to tackle down for all diseases, which would take a lot of time for researching on diseases and finding the cure can be expensive.

In contrast, investing on the prevention for potential diseases is difficult to achieve because the insufficient research had been done. In other words, it is unrealistic to prevent the diseases since new diseases are spreading every year. For example, the whole world had feared from SARS in 2012, by 2015 it was MERS and now the world is feared for the new diseases called ZIKA viruses. So to prevent for all those “newly developed” viruses is impossible to achieve. Hence, the cost for prevention would even more than actual cure for diseases.

In conclusion, the prevention for all potential diseases would be the dream for everyone. However, practically preventing for all diseases would be difficult to achieve since the insufficient technological and research facilities and knowledge. Therefore, prevention cannot be achieved realistically and the investment on research for treating illness should be continued.