Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high- for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Tobacco is one of the most widely-used drugs of the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco

every day. Tobacco is slowing taking a billion people in the world towards doom. The long term health

costs are high for smokers, who suffer from various heart and lung diseases, reduced concentration

and continually diminishing immunity.

Non-smokers, accompanying smokers or those who are in their close vicinity, also become “Passive”

smokers and bear the toll of various inevitable diseases as they inhale the smoke which has an illeffect

on their respiratory systems. Thus, the health costs are high—for smokers themselves, and for

wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

There has been awareness among people from many years, about the ill-effects of smoking and

various campaigns run by the government, NGOs and local bodies to encourage people to quit

smoking but the result have not been impressive. The solution is to nip the problem in the bud. School

authorities and parents should keep a close eye so that children don’t start to smoke because they

think it is “cool”. They should be made aware about the harmful effects of smoking.

Government could play a vital role too. Smoking should not be high-hand in advertisements and movie

commercials which have a huge impact on people. It could levy high taxes on tobacco products to

keep people away from its reach. Rules for checking children buying such products should be made

stringent.

The onus to protect from such products also lie on individuals as will-power always does the trick. The

knowledge of importance of being healthy has to be realized from within. It goes a long way to check

the problem. Thus, the solution requires both legitimate action of Government and strong individual

decisions to eliminate the problem.