Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do Governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?

The war between tobacco companies and the governments has been raging for years. Only in the recent years has there been a definitive stand taken against tobacco companies and smokers.

It is common knowledge that tobacco smoking can cause diseases that can mutilate one’s body. The diseases range from a variety of cancers of the oral cavity to the respiratory system(especially the lungs), having worsening effects on heart disease, diabetes, hypertension, auto/self amputations secondary to gangrene and not forgetting harm to foetus in pregnant mothers.

Recent studies show that passive smokers are at a higher risk of developing diseases as the particles they inhale are finer. These particles can lodge deeper in the tissues leading to a worse form of the disease as seen amongst the smokers themselves.

One of the recent victory against the powerful tobacco companies was the ban of displaying the names on the packaging. The cover is replaced with images of disease repercussions caused by smoking.

Similarly, banning of smoking in public areas with only a few designated areas for smokers has been implemented. Anyone caught disobeying the rule is heavily fined. Many countries have adopted and implemented this rule with success.

Furthermore, using media to advertise effects and repercussions of smoking has had more of an impact on smokers. These advertisements portray real people talking of their battle and problems with smoking. They also depict the strong message of by stopping the habit of smoking, how it can prolong their life to enjoy with family.

In conclusion, I believe it is the responsibility of the government to educate the public of all the harmful effects of smoking, limiting their access by implementing high taxes and banning sales to individuals under 18 years of age. This will educate and make the individuals aware of the effects of smoking, leaving the choice in their hands.