“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

The investment on researching and experiments to cure the maladies is required a huge amount of money. As a result of this, some people claims that the prevention for maladies is more important and should invest on preventative measures. Even though the prevention seems the most optimistic way to achieve, in finance perspective, I believe that this is unrealistic and therefore, I completely disagree with this approach. I think the research for treating diseases is still required.

Nowadays government spends a huge amount of money on researching and experimenting for science and chemical developments. In the US only, it had spent about $2.5 billion of government money solely on chemical developments in 2015. As a result of this, people claim that this money should not be spent on research and development for fixing the illness but it should be used for the prevention of illnesses.

Investing on preparation and prevention for diseases has financial advantages. It is far cheaper than money is required to be spent for researching and curing for diseases. If the government only focuses their money to be used on prevention, they can use the budgeted money to support for other departments such as treasury, military or education. Therefore, the financial part for prevention is beneficial than that of researching and development spending.

Even though there is a financial beneficial to use the money on prevention, in reality this is not feasible, because newer viruses are introduced. For example, the world had faced the fear of viruses of SARS in 2012, MERS in 2015 and ZIKA in 2016. By preventing of all those viruses including the foreseeable viruses could be meaning that scientists have to forecast the development of viruses. To do that, scientists must require grasping sufficient knowledge about human biology, science and chemical developments and also they require of advanced technological supports. The knowledge seeking to prevent foreseeable diseases can take long time and costs, thus the costs for prevention would exceed than the treating diseases.

In conclusion, the prevention of potential diseases is the dream for everyone. However, this is not practically possible since there is insufficient technological availability and lack of knowledge in that field. As a result researching and developing required fields can costs even more than treating, so the research for treating should be continued.