Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree

Managing illnesses could be quite an expensive venture, hence investing in prevention is a better alternative.I strongly agree with this statement because prevention is more cost effective and helps eradicate diseases.

Firstly, preventing disease requires little amount of money compared to its treatment. In other words, money that will be use to treat one ailment would have been beneficial in preventing not just the disease itself but also its long term complications. Stroke, a debilitating medical condition, requires huge amount of money for its initial treatment and even further management of its complications. However, with little income it can be prevented by merely checking of blood pressure, eating of healthy foods and exercising the body. Thus, its preventing a disease from occurring is more economical than curing it.

Secondly, vaccination as a way of preventing ailments, has helped eradicate some epidemic diseases. This is to say that if more funds are Channelled to disease prevention buy procuring more vaccine and getting more persons to benefit from it, many ailments suffered in the past will continue to be a thing of the past. Polio for example, which is disease that many persons in Nigeria suffered in the twentieth century, is now a forgotten ailment. Therefore, through preventive measures diseases can be eradicated.

In conclusion, without any doubt, treating diseases can be really capital intensive. Therefore, focus should be on preventing rather than treating them, as it is much cheaper and can assist in eliminating some of these diseases.