"Prevention is better than cure".

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Health is one of the basic right of humankind, and governments around the globe are constantly finding new ways to combat diseases, and improving infrastructure. It is believed by some to divert a large proportion of country'sq health budget to health education and preventive measures from treatment. In my opinion, it is an effective way of combating diseases.

To begin with, people supporting diversion of funds to preventive Measures proposes several reasons for it. First and foremost, as it is a famous saying that "Prevention is better than cure", so if the disease is prevented before it infect masses will not only save precious lives, but will also reduce government expenses. For example, a large number of infectious diseases are easily prevented like Malaria, typhoid and gastroenteritis by taking care of hygiene. On the contrary, their treatment requires large amount of money. Also, by saving money by this strategy authorities can make use of money on development a projects. Hence it seems great method.

Having said this, it is also true that by doing this there will be less funds available for treatment, and may lead to decline of health standard. Apart from this there are certain diseases which are not preventable for instance, cancer therefore, this policy will not work in such a case. Lastly by adapting it there will be havoc if there is an epidemic due to lack of resources for treatment.

To conclude, although it is an effective and economical way of tackling health problems, but sufficient funds must be allocated for treatment to balance both tires of health. In the future too, it is expected that its popularity will increase worldwide.