Prison is a common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern world, owing to the problems about finding the way to control illegalities, there is a common belief in some people that instead of locking up criminals, we could better reduce crime effective through education. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement because it is impossible to compare the effect of these method owing to their different impacts.

On the one hand, I believe that training and education also play a complementary role in reducing crime rates because those options serve as a remedy for the origin of crimes. Firstly, education contributes enormously raising people’s awareness and intelligence as well as making the society more civilized. When all individual in a country can access to better educational services, they would be well-informed about the damages and dangers that crimes cause for their community and themselves, as a result, the crime rates can be declined in the near future. Additionally, if citizens have access to a same fundamental education with a certain qualifications, they can secure their standard of living and dispel all crime ideas.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why prisons play an essential role in social security. The first reason is that severe prison sentences act as a deterrent and help prisoners be fully aware of the serious consequences of committing crimes. For instances, dangerous criminals such as rapists, murders or drug trafficking must be imprisoned for their heinous actions. They can get some education but still must be kept away from the community. Another significant reason for my opinion is when people know that if they commit a crime and are condemned to jail, they will lose their freedom and live in a miserable life in a cell. People who are having the intention of committing illegalities would reconsider going down the path.

In conclusion, it is groundless to say that education is a more effective solution as each of them address the problem in different ways. Both of them are equally significant and complement each other.