With all the problem in the world today, spending money on space exploration is a complete waste. The money could be better spent on the other causes. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In today’s modern world, with the current pace of technological, space exploration has been gaining more and more traction in many regions. However, some people argue that investing in this development only as money and time squandering. From my standpoint, I agree with this statement because while expenditure on research new planets plays a certain part in humankind’s development, it should not take precedence over other domains in our daily life.

On the one hand, I believe that expenditure in space research can be justified because it may be the key to human race’s long-term existence in the future when the Earth is no longer a habitable place. Earth’s natural conditions are increasingly under threat as population growth in each country is increasing every year and the non-stop tempo of socio-economic growth also providing a negative impact on air quality in many nations. Consequently, the Earth’s living conditions will be too harsh for humans, as a result, to raise the citizen’s living standards, the government should invest in a survey and seek for other planets to live in. Because terraforming a new place in a new planet will requires tremendous research, spending money in space exploration as early as possible can save time and also equip humankind with sufficient preparation of knowledge.

On the other hand, I still resist that there are more other urgent areas need a huge financial investment to implement. While space research is an issue that needs to be done in a long-term process, there are still many current alarming issues right now such as education, health or about climate change is getting more serious should also receive meticulous attention until we can find a suitable planet for humans live in. To be more specific, governments should provide more subsidies for education in order to build up a high-quality human resources as well as contribute to the sustainable development of that country in the future, especially for the field of space exploration. Another sphere in need of monetary resources is healthcare as the recent COVID-19 epidemic, healthcare has corroborated that it is the ultimate key of survival for the long-run economic development.

In conclusion, although expenditures on space research are good for cause, the priority should be current problems facing humankind such as healthcare, education. The government should know how to achieve the optimal money distribution between space exploration and other urgent areas.