Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals from society.

Imprisonment is often viewed as the best possible way to punish the criminal as it confines them inside the four walls away from the family member and society. In my opinion, it is one of the ways to teach them a lesson for their wrongdoing, however the outcome of punishment linked with effective rehabilitation program that will reduce the chance of re-offense by them.

Criminals get sentences according to nature of the crime. It is perceived that this separation from community and family help reconciliation. They feel sorry for what they have done and that is the motivation to come back in normal life after release from jail. However, there are unanticipated things that happen inside the prison which many change the course of the correction process. For example, petty criminals are influenced by other inmates who were involved serious crime to join with their groups outside the jail after being released. Many of them do want a return to their family rather they involved with other criminal groups for their livelihood. In most countries there is no effective rehabilitation program for the inmate during the period they stay inside the jail. Lack of recreational activities, availability of drugs, poor sanitation, and congested living condition give them a sense of abandoned by society and family members while serving their sentences.

Keeping them in a well-secured place will not bring any substantial change in their mindset unless they are tied to the rehabilitation program. Each inmate should be assessed psychologically initially and periodically to figure out any change in their attitude towards crime and normal life. An educational program for example online education for the prisoners is important as it will help them to find a job after release. Vocational program such as tailoring and cooking course enable them to live in the society independently. Immediately after release, they need social support like housing, debt management and job opportunity. Federal and provincial government play a greater role in funding to achieve this goal.

In conclusion, no individuals born as criminal and criminals deserve respect and kindness too. Imprisonment will keep them away from society but the likelihood of successful rehabilitation largely depend on the collaborative action of the state, community and family members.