Most of the schools are planning to replace sports and exercise classes with more academic sessions. What i s your opinion on this change? How is this change will affect children’s life in your view?

Extracurricular activities like games and physical exercise are viewed as less important; therefore many schools are thinking to substitute these classes with the academic session. In my opinion, reduction in the number of these activities will impact negatively on physical and mental health of the children.

Our children are overwhelmed with the number of academic credit that they complete in each semester. Likely the teachers, parents are also concerned about their children’s academic success and put extra pressure at home to complete their assignment. High-grade marks in academic transcripts are primary screening tool in order to get admission in any discipline at university. Therefore children work hard at school and at home as well. Children are often physically and mentally drained to cope with this situation. Physical education is the class where they can relax and spend quality time with friends.

There are ample of benefit of exercise and sports activity. It keeps them healthy and fit. They learn how to develop team work which will help them in professional life later on. Good physic is also linked to improve mental health. A child who is active can think positively and wed out odd ideas which also influence on academic performance. Replacing of physical education class and sports event in this perspective would be detrimental as it has short term and long term effect. Children will more incline to less active form of amusement like video games and social media which will promote childhood obesity. In addition, the contents of many video games are based on violence and coarse language which have deleterious effect on personality trait of the children. Furthermore, they will be less social.

In conclusion, despite the fact that academic institution will provide more time for their academic session, this should not be at the cost of elimination of games and exercise lesson.