It is argued by some people that prison is the only truly viable way to deter crime. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this statement.

There are a plethora of reasons why imprisonment might not be the most ideal punishment in various cases. Firstly, minor criminals can be punished through fines or community services, which is more economical than prison, and can help to minimize the damage caused to the criminal’sg family. Had it not been for this, there would not have been any more viable punishments for individuals whose crimes are insignificant. Secondly, by keeping these light criminals engaged in society, authorities can make an effort to rehabilitate them through training or educational programs. This will help to reduce relapsing into crime in the future. For instance, a number of prisoners in Vietnam are required to partake in social service activities to help them regain morality and reflect on themselves.

Besides, in this day and age of technology and modernization, if offenders are believed to be a threat to society, there are possible ways to control them such as electronic tagging or being supervised by police. Such methods can be be effective in reducing criminal behaviors and are quite a strong punishment as they restrict an offender’s freedom greatly. Furthermore, prisoners might potentially form groups during their jail period, which could potentially create detrimental consequences such as a plan to escape from prison, or form connection to practice in crime again after having served their sentence. Only extremely dangerous criminals, such as someone who cause deaths of others, should be kept isolated from society for their sins.

In conclusion, it seems to me that imprisonment is a last resort in cases which there is no alternative available, and it is not the most effective method in all circumstances.