“Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment because it separates criminals
from society.” To what extent do you support this view?
You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own
knowledge and experience.
there is no doubt that we need to find effective forms of punishment for criminals, and also
find ways to protect citizens from the threat of crime. I personally feel that prison is only one of a
range of options we should use, and is not always the most effective.
Firstly, I do not accept that all criminals need to be separated from society. Juvenile and
minor offenders can be punished through fines, community service or other non-custodial means. this
is cheaper than prison and prevents damage to the criminal’s family which in itself could generate
further social problems. Furthermore, by keeping these small-scale criminals in society, we can try to
rehabilitate them, for example through training or education programs. this will help to reduce offending
in the future.
Besides this, if offenders are believed to be a threat to their fellow citizens, there are ways of
containing them such as electronic tagging, curfews or regular reporting to the police. such methods
have been shown to be effective in reducing criminal behavior and are themselves quite a strong
punishment, as they restrict an offender’s freedom greatly. Finally, we should remember that prisons
are to some extent ‘schools of crime’ and in many cases, prisoners end their jail terms as more
capable and determined criminals than when they entered.
Of course, it is true that in certain cases we need to both punish criminals and isolate them
from other people. I recognize that violent or dangerous people need to be imprisoned – yet I believe
this applies to a small minority of instances.
To conclude, I feel that prison is a last resort in cases where there is no alternative. this does
not make it the only effective punishment, but rather the most severe among a variety of possibilities.