With the proliferation of high-tech media, some people insist that the public libraries would be rendered obsolete if they did not provide software, videos or DVDs to their users while others assert that it is only a waste of limited resources and libraries should offer only books.

In the past, libraries play a role of providing hundreds and thousands of books, magazines, and collections for users to borrow and return and sometimes even donate. A good library service their users for a range of books from best-sells to historical collections as long as people are still reading it.

Nowadays, libraries are improved in many ways including the speed of organizing the collections, providing chargers on the desk, and start to provide virtual media such as e-books. Indeed, the way people read changes over time from a touchable books to high-tech devices like smart phones, tablets, and laptops.

As a result, the visual content growing rapidly while publishing industry shrinking dramatically. For the need of end service like bookshops or libraries are changing as well. On the other hand, people need the up-to-date equipment and services more than the past. And the idea of invest limited resources into the high-tech media is the inevasible trend.

To sum up, reading is just a way people absorb knowledge either from traditional books or virtual devices. Technology changes the way we read, the libraries should be adjusted with the custom as well. And the money spending on improving the libraries, will never be a waste!