Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on

expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree

Public libraries are great source of information. Many people believe that only books should be provided in public libraries, and having DVDs and videos there is waste of money. I completely disagree with this notion because these new storage devices can profoundly benefit our countries.

The primary reason why I believe public libraries should invest on DVDs and videos is that using these sources can reduce the number of trees that are being cut down every day. Papers are made from wood , the main source of wood is forests and jungles, which provide oxygen for our planet. Books require a sizeable number of trees and eliminating them by other sources can be beneficial for the environment. Therefore, Using DVDs not only can save a vast number of trees, but it will also have provided us with cleaner environment within a few years.

On the other hand, DVDs and videos have longer life cycles. Despite advances that have been made in increasing the life cycle of books, keeping them in secure places in museums for instance, they are not as durable as DVDs, or videos that are usually made out of recycled plastic. If libraries invest on DVDs and other types of data storage devices, they will greatly reduce their expenditure in the long run. In other words, the more investments on recent storage technology, the lower the cost would be.

In conclusion, I would rather our government invested on DVDs and videos for libraries rather than new books, because in this way not only can we save our forests, but we could also save money to invest on other necessary aspects of our country.