1. In many countries there has been an increase in social problems involving teenagers in recent years. Many people believe that this is due to modern lifestyles because parents spend more and more time at work and have less time to supervise their children. To what extent do you believe this is true?

Adolescents have been known as a growing source of social problems recently. Several people maintain that the reason for this important issue is that our modern lifestyle is taking valuable supervising time from parents. I completely agree with this notion.

The primary reason for the recent social problems involving teenagers is that they have more access to unsuitable TV programs, when parents are absent. In recent years, there has been a growing interest among moviemakers towards action movies. As a result of the potential success of this genre, the number of movies that have been produced has increased dramatically. Unsupervised teenagers, who have a tendency towards these movies, have instant access to them through different TV channels. These movies, in addition, may encourage unconventional behaviors, such as drug abuse or violence. Therefore, teenagers who watch these films may be encouraged to show aggressive behavior in society or develop a sense of curiosity towards drugs.

Psychological diseases are another reason for social problems among adolescents. Teenagers are prone to different mental disorders, depression, for instance, when they are left alone. Researches have confirmed that one of the reasons for developing depression maybe lack of appropriate communication. If teenagers feel isolated at home, they will turn to social media for their needed interactions. These types of communication cannot develop a sense of satisfaction and may endanger adolescents to deprivation of social interaction. Therefore, they are more likely to suffer from depression in the long run.

In conclusion, parents' tight schedule not only has led to more accessible access to violent TV programs for teenagers, but it has also made them vulnerable to unproductive interactions in social media, which can result in depression in the long run.