It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Distinguishing between right and wrong is an important skill. Children should be taught to learn this ability from an early age. Although some people believe that punishment plays a vital role in this process, I cannot completely agree, especially with physical punishment.

Physical punishment can have a negative effect on a child's mental health. There are numerous studies on the effect of physical punishment, and a majority of these studies have proved that it can adversely affect children in the long run. The reason behind these findings is that punishing children physically not only can encourage violent behavior, but it could also cause children to resent the guardian. If children are exposed to aggressive behavior, they will be more likely to become psychologically damaged, and rebel against the rules. In other words, the more exposure to physical punishment, the more likely they are to become rebellious and turn to crime in the long run.

However, children should be taught to differentiate between right and wrong, and one way to achieve this is by simple punishments. There are some types of discipline that are not physical, limiting children's access to video games or TV, for instance. Parents can use these limitations to positively punish their children and teach them about the negative aspects of their behavior. On the other hand, teachers spend a lot of time with the students. One way to punish students effectively would be extra homework. If children have to spend more time on home works, this will work as a deterrent and make them realize their wrong choices.

In conclusion, even though physical punishment should be banned in schools and families, there are several means of punishment, such as extra homework, to teach children about the difference between right and wrong. I would rather our teachers and caretakers used these methods rather than physical punishment.