In many countries there has been an increase in social problems involving teenagers in recent years. Many people believe that this is due to modern lifestyles because parents spend more and more time at work and have less time to supervise their children. To what extent do you believe this is true?

Youngsters are developing antisocial behavior more often in this modern society. Some people believe this behavior pattern is due to their upbringing since their parents find it difficult to share their time with them, and supervise them as a result of high working load, and I completely agree with this statement.

Spending more time on video games instead of having fun with family members is a major reason of the social problems caused by teenagers. Parents are now spending a majority of their day time at work, which makes them so exhausted that they may not be able to have a quality time with their teenagers at evenings. Children, therefore, turn to their computers and game consoles which may have violent content. Observing violation on video games on a daily basis have resulted in more aggressive behavior. For example, Mortal Combat, which is a very popular game, is about war and armed crime, and teaches players how to use guns to kill.

Lower level of intimacy between generations in family is another reason of this issue. Older generation can act as a role model when they are trustworthy for young individuals. Parents, nowadays, do not have enough time to develop this trust. Instead, there are older people outside in the society to whom adolescents may confide in, while those people are not usually a proper role model, and some of them may even be criminals. In other words, the more adolescents look up to strangers, the more likely they are to get involved in gangs.

In conclusion, watching violent content on screen and not having a close-knit family are two major reasons that have brought about more antisocial behavior in adolescents, and I strongly believe that those two mentioned above have happened because parents are spending too much time at work