Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Globalization has brought equal trends among people around the world. People from different nations share the same taste in what to wear, or eat, and the media is also broadcasting the same content. This changes have both advantages and drawbacks.

Immigration has become easier owing to this global village since many products are sold globally, and TV channels in destination are the same as that of homeland. Immigrants, therefore, may not find it difficult to shop, and do not become homesick as a result of familiar TV programs.

Easy access to high quality products is another merit of globalization since almost all brand companies have a chain store in every country. For example, a swimmer from Iran can easily purchase the highest quality of swim suites from NIKE stores in Tehran.

Forgetting about traditions, however, is one of the disadvantages. Each nation has its own unique culture which is represented in their poems and myth. Younger generations are now watching TV programs which has no content about their traditions. For instance, Iranian children are now more familiar with Disney characters than Rostam and Sohrab in famous Iranian book named Shaahnaame.

Local businesses are also at risk of bankruptcy as a result of more sales in globally famous brands. Most products’ manufacture are now dominated by one or two international company which has resulted in less profit for small factories in developing countries. For example, Melli shoes used to be popular among Iranians, and it is predicted, within a few decades, there will have been no items produced by this company.

In conclusion, although the global village has made moving abroad , shopping famous brands easier, it also had some adverse effects on local cultures and markets.