Q 13: The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalisation produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, whether an increase in the number of international businesses in the era of globalisation has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that globalisation exerts a positive influence on human beings, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the growth of global corporations. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that international firms which have established branches in local countries can stimulate economic success in these nations considering that global companies create a myriad employment opportunities, allowing local residents to land a job with greater ease. Furthermore, from the customers' perspective of view, they can be provided with more choices. This means that they can buy global products, making it possible for them to have an improved standard of living.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the globalisation trend merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local countries can suffer from brain drain as the majority of multinational firms have a predisposition to hire locals by providing higher wages as well as more perks than local companies, leading them to have difficulty finding competent job seekers. In addition, some international corporations are inclined to enter local markets without taking into account local environments related to the business. As a result, they often give rise to cultural conflicts since some of them do not take responsibility for respecting local cultures as well as policies. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.