Q 20 : The family has a great influence on children's development, but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children's life. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of families on children's behaviour has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that parents play a vital role in the development of children's personalities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that parents greatly impact on the behaviour of children. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that young people have a predisposition to follow their parents' behaviour considering that all children rely on their parents at the beginning of the socialisation process before they receive primary education. As a brief illustration, children with parents suffering from obesity because of undesirable eating habits, such as over-consumption of junk food, are more likely to become overweight considering that they often consume the same unhealthy food that is eaten by their parents. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the parents' role in children's development is crucial.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that only family members exert an influence on children's characteristics. The most oft-cited argument is that a number of working parents lead a hectic life due to devotion to work in the fiercely competitive society, and they have difficulty spending enough time with their children, meaning that a large number of children communicate more frequently with teachers as well as friends than parents. Thus, these children learn a multitude of things from their peers and teachers. In addition, the advancement of technology makes it possible for children to make use of their time online. As a result, children who are generally less able to distinguish right from wrong can be easily exposed to detrimental and obscene information on the internet, having a negative effect on their behaviour. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.