Q13 : The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of globalisation has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that an increase in the number of international corporations in the era of globalisation is beneficial, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the growth of international companies. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that global firms which have established branches in local countries can boost economic success in these nations considering that international businesses create a multitude of employment opportunities, which makes it possible for local residents to land a job with greater ease. In addition, from the customers' perspective of view, they are provided with more choices as they can buy numerous kinds of global products, allowing them to have an improved standard of living.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the globalisation trend merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local countries often suffer from brain drain. This is because the majority of multinational companies have a predisposition to hire competent job seekers by providing higher salaries as well as more perks than domestic firms, which prevents them from finding good employees. Furthermore, some international corporations are inclined to enter local markets without taking into account local environments and policies related to business in order to maximise their profits, which can even contribute to cultural friction. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.