Q16 Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, whether an increase in online business meetings and training sessions for employees is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to participating in business meetings on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that working people can benefit a great deal from attending online business meetings. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way workers can communicate with colleagues regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, working adults can save time because commuting to and from work deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on devotion to work.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that holding business meetings on the Internet merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that online meetings prevent employees from receiving instant feedback from their co-workers in person, which often leads them to have difficulty concentrating on their meetings. In other words, workers are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their colleagues as well as senior managers helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of partaking in online meetings surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.