Q15. Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether remote education is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to receiving tertiary education on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students benefit a great deal from attending online classes do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way students can take lectures regardless of time and place with greater ease as having access to the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, students are able to save time considering that commuting to and from school deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on studies.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that earning a bachelor's or a master's degree on the Internet merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that online lectures prevent students from gaining instant feedback from their professors, which leads them to have difficulty revising for the exam. This means that a multitude of students are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their majors, exerting a detrimental influence on their academic performance. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face classes for students, they would be less likely to build a strong relationship with classmates as well as senior students helping them to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career. To be more specific, mingling with others at university makes it possible for students not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of earning certificates on the Internet surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.