Q 11: Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the protection of animals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with contemporary issues of humans should take precedence over preserving animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that mankind should not allow animals to go extinct do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that preventing animals from disappearing plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to save animals, the food chain and ecosystem would be broken due to the extinction of a multitude of endangered species of wildlife, exerting a detrimental influence on humans who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that in modern society, there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than conserving animals given that animal protection is not directly related to individuals' daily life. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming because a myriad of citizens across the globe suffer from global warming hindering the masses to have an improved standard of living, which can even give rise to climate change. Another grave issue is global hunger directly related to the life of humans. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul times, approximately 17% of the world's population died because of poverty in 2015. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the conservation of animals should not be a priority for the reasons discussed above.