Q20. The family has a great influence on childen's development, but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children's life. Do you agree or disagree?

Q20.

Recently, the impact of families on children's behaviour has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that parents play a vital role in the development of children's personalities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that parents greatly affect the behaviour of children. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that young people have a predisposition to follow their parent's behaviour considering that all children rely on their parents at the beginning of the socialisation process before receiving primary education. As a brief illustration, children with parents suffering from obesity because of undesirable eating habits, such as over-consumption of junk food, are more likely to become overweight as they often consume the same unhealthy food eaten by their parents. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the parent's role in children's behaviour is crucial.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that only family members exert an influence on children's characteristics. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that in the fiercely competitive society, a multitude of working parents leading a hectic life have difficulty spending enough time with their offspring due to devotion to work. Thus, a large number of children communicate more frequently with thier friends and teachers than their father and mother. As a result, they often learn behaviour patterns and habits from their peers and teachers. In addition, the development of technology makes it possible for youngsters to make use of their time online, meaning that adolescents who generally are incapable of distinguishing right from wrong can be exposed to huge amounts of harmful and obscene information, having a detrimental effect on young people's personalities.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.