Q16 : Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether an increase in online meetings and sessions for employees is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to participating in business meetings on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a multitude of workers benefits a great deal from attending online meetings and training sessions do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way working adults partake in business meetings anywhere with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, online meetings do not deprive working people of time devoted to commuting to and from work, allowing them to focus more on their occupation.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that holding business meetings on the Internet merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that these meetings often prevent employees from receiving instant feedback from their colleagues with greater ease, leading them to have difficulty concentrating on their meetings. In other words, a large number of working people are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties, which can even exert a negative influence on their work performance. In addition, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their co-workers as well as senior managers who help them to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of taking part in online meetings surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.