Q49. Countries are spending a lot of money hosting international events such as the World Cup and the Olympics. Is this useful or not? Discuss and give your opinion.

Recently, whether holding global events is beneficial or not has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that host nations can obtain a myriad of advantages from these events, while others argue otherwise. I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that global sporting events have a detrimental impact on host nations do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that these events allow host countries to get only short-term advantages for their economy even though they invested an astronomical amount of money. In addition, living costs in host countries soar, which has a negative influence on local people. To exemplify, a study conducted by the Seoul National University illustrates that the recent winter Olympics held in South Korea caused a dramatic increase in the prices of basic necessities, such as groceries and clothes, of almost 30% during the Olympic period. For these reasons, some people hold the view that hosting global competitions should not be encouraged.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of global events are more significant. An obvious advantage is that facilities used for international spectacles lead to flourishing industries related to these events. Furthermore, these events contribute to positive awareness about the host country to global societies. To exemplify, the government of South Korea released the effect of the Olympics, which enabled the country's brand rank to go up from 22nd to 11th in 2019 and they asserted that the economic value of this is considered priceless. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that hosting global events exerts a positive influence on the country for the reasons discussed above.