Q8: As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Recently, whether an increase in the number of cars is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to making use of cars for the environment, these are outweighed by the advantages for human beings, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a rise in the number of personal vehicles poses a threat to the environment do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that a huge amount of CO2 released by cars exerts a detrimental influence on the quality of air. In other words, excessive use of private vehicles leads to air pollution preventing living creatures, including humans and plants, from having an improved standard of living. Furthermore, numerous endangered species of wildlife that should be protected in order to keep biodiversity can become extinct given that a large quantity of carbon dioxide accelerates the speed of global warming, which can even give rise to climate change.

My opinion, however, is that mankind can reap a myriad of advantages from the availability of personal vehicles. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that owning a car facilitates various aspects of people's daily life, from taking trips to commuting to and from work. To be more specific, employees are able to travel to their workplace with greater ease as passengers of public transport often spend a great deal of time. This is because public transport systems are sometimes not only unavailable but also crowded. In addition, individuals' cars can minimise their inconvenience during their travel since they do not need to take into account problems related to public transport, such as being limited to fixed routes and timetables. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of using private vehicles for individual people surpass the drawbacks for the environment for the reasons discussed above.