QQ8 : As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Recently, whether an increase in the number of cars is beneficial or not has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are a number of disadvantages to making use of cars for the environment, these are outweighed by the advantages for humans, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a growth in the number of cars poses a threat to the environment do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that a huge amount of CO2 is released by using cars, exerting a detrimental influence on the quality of air. In other words, excessive car usage results in air pollution that often prevents humans as well as animals from living a better life. Moreover, numerous wildlife species that should be protected in order to keep biodiversity can become extinct considering that a large quantity of CO2 can accelerate the speed of global warming, which can even lead to climate change.

My opinion, however, is that the masses can reap a myriad of benefits from having their cars. In fact, owning a car facilitates various aspects of people's daily life, from taking trips to commuting. To be more specific, private vehicles make it possible for users to travel to work with greater ease given that passengers of public transports, including subways and buses, often spend a huge amount of time. This is because public transport is sometimes not only unavailable but also crowded. In addition, individuals’ cars are more likely to minimize their inconvenience during their travel since they do not need to take into account problems related to public transport systems, such as being limited to fixed routes and timetables. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of a rise in the number of cars for people surpass the drawbacks for the environment for the reasons discussed above.